the history room

Bruny Island History

This is a working History Room. The History Room was once the old Court House next to the Police Station. Since the Bruny History Collection was established during the Bicentennial year of 1988, local history research has been ongoing with most information coming from the monthly Historical Society Field Excursions and discussion groups. Pictorial folders on timber industry, schools, whaling, walks, memorabilia etc. showcase displays.

“This is a working History Room: Free Admission”

Kathy Duncombe

Kathy Duncombe – Bruny Island’s Quarantine Station

The book ‘Bruny Island’s Quarantine Station In War and Peace’ documents the history of the Quarantine Station site at Barnes Bay. Beginning with the early Aboriginal occupation; European settlement in 1856; establishment of a State maritime quarantine station in 1884; acquisition by the Commonwealth Government in the early days of Federation; internment of German nationals in 1914; quarantine of soldiers during the Influenza Pandemic 1919; and Plant quarantine from 1955 to 1986; and ends with the Proclamation of the area as a State Reserve in 2003. Approximately 140 A4 pages, it is comprehensively indexed, contains data on a number of Bruny families, plus over 100 photos, maps and plans which have never been published before.

Vehicular Ferry Service

50th Anniversary of the Vehicular Ferry Service

Bev Davis shows off a piece of memorabilia to a visitor in the pavilion set up by the Bruny Island Historical Society with display boards of photographs and historical information about the ferry service. local residents and visitors picnic during the anniversary celebration.